Author Topic: Gens KMod modifications for mapping  (Read 50959 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #30 on: April 03, 2008, 05:12:38 AM »
Basically, I already tried it, and it's really hard. The problem is that you can disable the mechanism that enables this stuff - line interrupts and HDMAs - but that also tends to disable a bunch of other stuff, like palette and tile loading.



Raster effects are pretty much entirely based on that. Highlight/shadow disabling might be more achievable, but I'm not sure how useful it would be - since the result would be that you'd be screenshotting things not as they appear in-game.

Online TerraEsperZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2274
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #31 on: April 03, 2008, 05:18:57 AM »
I pretty much figured as such, but I had to try :D



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



Current projects: Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man V (GB), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES)
Current project that I really should try to finish:
-Drill Dozer (GBA)
-Sonic 3D Blast (Genesis)
-Naya's Quest (PC)

Pending project:
-A ton of stuff that will never be finished

Offline DarkWolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #32 on: October 23, 2008, 04:29:27 PM »
What's the deal with frameskip?  I never used this mod for sprite ripping before so I didn't notice until now.  If frameskip is set to anything other than Auto, the emulation is way too fast, but if it is set to Auto, frames get skipped when doing the frame increment.  I'm switching back and forth right now, but it's kind of a pain.  Can it be fixed easily?

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #33 on: October 24, 2008, 02:09:36 AM »
No idea.



I noticed I never released my code (naughty naughty, GPL). So here it is:



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/gens_kmod_maxim_src_20081024.zip



You might want to take it as a starting point if you want to make changes, we could have a "Gens VGMaps edition" or something.

Offline Special T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #34 on: January 22, 2009, 09:41:34 PM »
Is there a way to edit the Gens.cfg file to make it automatically open at 4 times the normal size with 25% Scanlines enabled? I could always do it manually by stretching the screen but it always defaults back to the original once size after I close the program.



I have opened the .cfg file but I'm not sure what to change.



Last question, why can't I take screen shots when I stretch the screen, they come out as broken images?

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2009, 03:21:01 AM »
1. The code doesn't save or load the renderer from the config file. It ought to be possible to add it. Having said that, there's no 4x option anyway, only 2x.

2. Dunno. It might be an unhandled case in the screenshot code.

Offline Special T

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #36 on: January 27, 2009, 01:12:11 AM »
Thank you for the response, I solved the screen shot issues by using the saveclipboardimages program I found here. Thanks again.

Offline feos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • TASVideos.org
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #37 on: March 26, 2011, 02:09:56 PM »
Men, I absolutely couldn't get, HOW to handle with layers in that mode?
Neither Graphics menu, nor Readme show that option.
Please, help!

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #38 on: March 26, 2011, 05:12:15 PM »
CPU -> Debug -> Layers

Online TerraEsperZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2274
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #39 on: March 26, 2011, 05:34:56 PM »
Since we're speaking about Gens, does anyone know which version of that emulator is the most accurate? I remember reading that Gens+ or Gens Recording of something like that started supporting savestates for Sega CD games, but that was months ago and I don't remember which one it was.
Current project that I really should try to finish:
-Drill Dozer (GBA)
-Sonic 3D Blast (Genesis)
-Naya's Quest (PC)

Pending project:
-A ton of stuff that will never be finished

Offline feos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • TASVideos.org
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #40 on: March 27, 2011, 12:01:58 AM »
Is it possible to recompile the current version of Gens rerecording 11 - which allows working with layers & a huge number of other stuff, handy for taking snaps & videos - to allow it switch the Color key as well?

See this post, why I need that.

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #41 on: March 27, 2011, 01:32:28 AM »
I suggest you ask the gens-rerecording people to add the feature, and point them at this thread for the code changes. I don't have the time :(

Offline feos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • TASVideos.org
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #42 on: March 27, 2011, 02:04:54 AM »
I suggest you ask the gens-rerecording people to add the feature, and point them at this thread for the code changes. I don't have the time :(

Thanks for reply, I've already created there a topic on that.
http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10949

The only question now - is it possible with simple recompiling of 2 sources, or the coding itself required?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2011, 02:06:02 AM by feos »

Online TerraEsperZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2274
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #43 on: March 27, 2011, 07:05:00 AM »
That was to be my next question as well. Having every available function consolidated in a single emulator would be best, but at any rate Maxim, your modification for KMod was a godsend when you made it.
Current project that I really should try to finish:
-Drill Dozer (GBA)
-Sonic 3D Blast (Genesis)
-Naya's Quest (PC)

Pending project:
-A ton of stuff that will never be finished

Offline Maxim

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
« Reply #44 on: March 28, 2011, 04:16:46 AM »
It's not that simple. My mod is based on Gens KMod which is based on Gens. The re-recording Gens is based on Gens (?). So there's a fair amount of diversion there. Think of it as having a text document that two people reworked/edited. How easy is it to merge their changes into a single document? Sometimes easy, sometimes impossible.